Shaping a Genesis Week

God, make a fresh start in me,
shape a Genesis week from the chaos of my life.
Don’t throw me out with the trash,
or fail to breathe holiness in me.

(Psalm 51: 10-11, The Message)

So, what if I was serious about having God shape a Genesis week from the chaos of my life?  What’s up with that?  The Message describes the state of things at the beginning of the creation week as, “…a soup of nothingness, a bottomless emptiness, an inky blackness”.  Really now?  Am I ready to admit to God, to me, to you; that in asking for a fresh start I recognize that my life is a soup of nothingness, a bottomless emptiness and an inky blackness? 

I don’t know if I want to go that far.  Maybe even “chaos” is too harsh a word, or at least too harsh of a recognition for me to share.  Let’s listen to the voice of reason, here.

“For goodness sake, man.  You have a Ph.D.  You have a satisfying job.  You’re a good teacher.  You serve well in your local congregation.  Your children love you.  You have a wonderful wife.  You are a cancer survivor.  Your friends respect you and you can make people laugh.  Your life is not chaos, life is good!”

Yet, listen to the heart of one crying out to God.

“God, make a fresh start in me, today!  Take my pain, my pride, my doubts.  Take my disobedience and fear.  Take my mistrust and confusion, my arrogance and prejudices. Take my past and future, my hopes and dreams, my consolations and desolations.  Shape my chaos, my nothingness, my blackness through your Genesis-week experience.  Don’t give up on me, my God.  Help me walk close to you.  Help me hear your voice.  I want to continually recognize your presence.  Shape a Genesis-week from what I am.”

What would it be like to have God do that?  Go back to the beginning of the book.  Read it again and pay attention to those powerful images, deep and true.  The Genesis week means life and free will and sentience, choices and work and play.  With it come companionship and purpose and order and beauty.  Creativity and power and love! Community: You and me and she and we and us!

Oh God, shape a Genesis week from my life today!  And God, search the hearts of my friends, seek out those that ask it too and do the same in them.

Explore posts in the same categories: Faith

Leave a Reply

