NaNoWriMo and Away I Go

Yesterday, I accomplished my goal of writing 50,000 words on a novel during November.  I have been participating in the National Novel Writing Month.  This international effort supports would be novel writers with a tremendous network of online and local support.  I joined a local writing group in Yamhill County and also a group in Second Life.  Several friends were very supportive of my efforts and my family took great interest in my writing.

The Novel is tenatively titled Past Northwest. It is s0mehat difficult to identify the genre of this work though I would say that science fiction is the best category for it.  To see some pictures of a local NanoWriMo event, held in Newberg, go here. There seems to be quite a community of emerging or at least hopeful writers out here.

This project has been a lot of fun, and hard work.  I am guessing I have another 25,000 words to add to finish it off, but I am taking a few days off, as I am now preparing for my next project.  I will be leaving soon for another trip to Rwanda.  I will be traveling for about three weeks, during that time I will stop in the Netherlands to see friends there, and then on to Kigali, Rwanda to work with faculty and administrators at the Kigali Institute of Education.  Depending on availability of internet while I am traveling, I will be posting here.

I appreciate your prayers for my travels for my family and for the work in Rwanda.

Explore posts in the same categories: Africa, Community

One Comment on “NaNoWriMo and Away I Go”

  1. Julie Green Says:

    Glad to see that little finisher’s icon!! 😉

    I never even started. Just as well; I would never have finished.

    Perhaps next year.


Leave a Reply

