Brochette with Vianney

What a wonderful day I had today!  We started off the morning conversing with Cepheus, a Congolese professor and pastor.  He works for the Kigali Institute of Education (KIE) and the International Exhange for Education (IEE).  He shared with us a little of his family history and his life in DRC.  He has relocated to Rwanda and is working as a language professor at KIE.  For IEE he serves as a trainer of trainers.  After our meeting with Cepheus, we met with Meredith, who is the chief academic officer for IEE.

After we had these conversations, we participated in a train the trainer session that Meredith led, working with 14 trainers of Rwandan teachers.    These trainers help the primary teachers learn how to teach in English and how to introduce learner-centered strategies in their classrooms. My brief period of conversation and observation convinced me that this is an effective program.

After Immanuelli and I dropped off Linda, Tom and Jay at the airport, he took me to the hotel where I am spending the night.  The guesthouse is full tonight and so I am staying in the One Hill Motel.  After getting settled in, I took a moto taxi to Kicukiro, headquarters to the Friends Church in Rwanda and home for my friend, Heri Bonheur. Heri is a graduate of the George Fox Secondary School in Kicukiro and a member of the Friends church here.  He is a mentee of David Bucurra and my friend.  I had lunch with Heri in his home.  He told me about his journey to South Africa to serve as a chaperon to David’s son, Yves.  Yves had a lead role in a South African production of a film regarding child soldiers.  Heri told me about their adventure in South Africa.  During his time there, a benefactor gave him a new HP portable computer.  He has begun to write his family history.  I offered to do some editing for him and gave him some advice while we ate sausage, cheese and bread.

Heri shared a letter with me that was actually an invitation from the producer of the film.  She invited him to attend a two-month film institute, all expenses paid, although he will have to come up with transportation.  I made a small contribution to his trip.  He is quite excited about this opportunity and I hope and pray that he will be able to secure the funds.  Heri has been interested in film making for quite some time and this is a good opportunity for him.

When I left Heri’s home, I intended to walk to Kicukiro market and then get a moto taxi back to Remera.  I passed the market by and kept walking.  It took me about one hour and ten minutes to walk all the way back to my motel.  I was fairly worn out, so I rested for a bit.  However, I was looking forward to my visit with Vianney, so I called him and he came by to pick me up.  We went to Stella 3, a bar and grill frequented by Rwandans.  I was the only white person in the place.  We orded brochette as an apetizer and then chicken and banannas for dinner.  The brochette (grilled meat on a stick) was excellent.  Our meal was very good as well.  We washed the meal down with a couple of Mutzig.  Vianney and I spoke of Le Rapid, the youth bicycle club that he is the president of.  His riders are preparing for national competition, and he hopes to place several riders on the national team for the Tour de Rwanda, which will be coming up in November.  The cirucuit will include a ride from Ruengheri to Kigali, a fairly challenging, hilly 100 km.

Explore posts in the same categories: Africa

Leave a Reply

