PDX to IAD to ADD to DAR

From Sunday, May 22 through Monday, June 6, we will be traveling over great distances. The codes listed in the title of this post mark the stages on the outbound leg of our journey. World Airport Codes is a site that can assist you in interpreting the codes if you are interested. The purpose of the trip is threefold, I will be presenting a paper at an international conference in Dar Es Salaam, my daughter Ruth and I will be going on safari in Kenya and I will be making visits to university administrators and faculty members in Rwanda.

One of the highlights of the trip for me is being able to have Ruth travel with me. She is nineteen years old and will be beginning her freshman year at George Fox University in the fall.  This will be Ruth’s first international trip.  I hope that she will develop a love for Africa, as I have.  Another highlight for me is seeing friends again in Rwanda. On my previous trips, I made several friends. It will be good to visit again.

While May has historically been a quiet month in my work, I had to accomplish a number of tasks this past week to not only prepare for our trip, but to also take care of ongoing work projects.  I will come back home to a number of assignments, including the beginning of three courses in June.

As far as this trip goes, the conference that I am participating in is the eLearning Africa conference.  This is the 6th annual conference. I am presenting a paper reviewing the opportunities and challenges we have encountered while working on a project to establish academic programs in Rwanda.  In Kenya, we will be staying at the Ilkeliani camp in the Maasai Mara. In Rwanda, we will be staying at the Go Ed guesthouse in Kigali.

I know that we will have internet access in Rwanda, assume we will not in Kenya and unsure about Tanzania.  I intend to post occasionally here, though I am unsure how frequently.

Explore posts in the same categories: Africa

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “PDX to IAD to ADD to DAR”

  1. Gayle Denham Says:

    It is Sunday morning here in Rwanda. We will be praying for safe travels for you and Ruth — muragenda neza! We are looking forward to seeing you in Kigali.


Leave a Reply

